Libraries, the universe and everything


Thing 1 – Blogging
June 21, 2011, 10:08
Filed under: cpd23

This summer I shall be taking part in the 23 Things for professional development programme. I have three main reasons for doing this – to try to get back into blogging, to encourage me to reflect a bit more widely, and to learn some stuff!

When I started this blog I was really keen, but lately I haven’t even been trying to think about topics to blog about, let alone make time to write anything down. I’m still doing the same kind of activities as I was before so it shouldn’t be that hard, but blogging simply isn’t appealing just now. I read a post a few months ago (but I forget where, sorry) that encouraged would-be writers to write something every day, and whilst I can’t see myself ever doing that I’m hoping that writing every week will be enough to get me back into the swing of blogging once the Things are over.

It’s also rather well-timed, as the next few months are going to be massively busy for me – I’m involved with a couple of big projects at work, and we’re moving house at the end of July. Keeping up with the Things will mean I have to put aside some time for my own benefit, and writing about them will hopefully encourage me to reflect on all the other stuff I’ve got going on as well.

In terms of the Things themselves, I think I’ve got a basic understanding of most of the things which appear on the programme, but there are quite a few which I haven’t used or worked with, and even in weeks where I’m quite familiar with the content I’m sure there will be extra tips and tricks to pick up. I must say I’m really impressed with the programme, and that’s another factor in why I’ve decided to participate 🙂

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Emma,

Random browsing of the tag on wordpress brought me to your blog. Glad you are up and running!

Alan

Like

Comment by africker

Thanks Alan!

Like

Comment by Emma Davidson

Hi Emma! Just wanted to pop in and say that I think it’s really admirable that you consider now a good time to do cpd23 despite being super busy. I can’t imagine there are many who would take on extra work at especially manic times! And considering that I’m about to embark on a summer of mad levels of work (trying to finish degree/work full-time/run cpd23) it’s great to know that there are plenty of us in the same boat! Good luck with the rest of the programme 🙂

Like

Comment by Helen

Thanks Helen, it’s good to know I’m not the only crazy person around here, and good luck to you too!

Like

Comment by Emma Davidson




Leave a Reply

