Libraries, the universe and everything


Welcome to SLA NY 2016
February 1, 2016, 13:12
Filed under: Uncategorized

My first public duty as Chapter President was to write an introduction for our e-newsletter. Getting this right was really important to me – many of our members don’t know me well (if at all) so I wanted to make sure that they had a clear sense of what I stand for and what I hope to achieve this year. Also, one of my biggest goals for the year is that our actions and processes should be as transparent as possible, and this seemed like a good way to start. I’m reposting it here mainly as a reminder for myself – in it I made a number of promises to the chapter membership and I want to keep myself accountable – and also because it encapsulates my thinking at the start of my presidential year, and I want to be able to look back in 12 months and see if anything changes.

Hello and welcome to SLA NY 2016!

It is such an privilege for me to be serving as your President this year. Not only does this mean that I have the honor of representing one of SLA’s most vibrant and diverse chapters, but I also get to work with the truly excellent group of people who make up our Board and Advisory Council. I couldn’t be more delighted!

My theme for 2016 is “Your Future is a Moving Target.” This is resonating very strongly with me at the moment—the only thing I know for sure about this year is that change and uncertainty are coming. A continued investment in ourselves as information professionals is the most effective insurance against at least some of the challenges ahead.

But this is not about me. Members are the lifeblood of SLA, and everything we do is intended to help you in some way. Change and uncertainty are certainly in the cards this year. I know many of us have been disturbed by some of the recent developments, particularly the raise in membership fees. We promise to keep you updated with news from HQ as we receive it and to represent your needs as strongly as we can.

One of my strongest intentions for this year is that we infuse everything we offer you with the value of SLA membership, and ensure that we are providing the greatest possible return on your membership dollars. In order to achieve this, we need your help. We still have a number of vacancies on our committees and would love for you to be involved. Watch for an email with more details about this soon! Even more importantly, please come to one of our events. We are putting the finishing touches to what we think is a great program of educational and social content (the website will be updated with full details as dates are confirmed). If you don’t find anything there to suit your professional development needs, please let us know what we can do to change that.

Please send your thoughts and suggestions to slanewyork2016@gmail.com, or find me at one of our events. I look forward to talking with you soon.

With very best wishes for a prosperous year,

Emma

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

