Libraries, the universe and everything


Be who you are
September 23, 2015, 16:50
Filed under: Reading | Tags: ,

Catching up on the “to read/watch/listen” heap lurking at the bottom of my inbox, I came across a link to an article by Jeff Haden on “The perfect way to introduce yourself (in any setting)“. (This was shared by Kim Dority in the LIS Career Options LinkedIn group back at the end of July – thanks Kim!) I’m delighted that I did finally read it, as the last few sentences really resonated with me:

When you introduce yourself, be who you are. Embrace the moment and the setting for what it says about you in that setting and not in comparison with titles or accomplishments.

Just be yourself: skills and triumphs and struggles and failures and all.

Always trust that who you are is more than enough.

Because it always is.

In all the advice floating around about perfecting one’s elevator pitch, I’m not sure I’ve noticed much about making your pitch site-specific, although it’s quite possible that bit just passed me by. Anyway, for some reason this really leapt of the page for me today.

I’m not the best at introducing myself on most occasions, especially as I’m currently in a non-standard situation which can be hard to explain briefly and without over-sharing (and yes, I obviously need to work on that). Consequently the notion of using only the bits which are immediately relevant is most appealing, as is the idea of keeping introductions fairly basic, at least to begin with. I can see this being effective as a networking device too – genuinely tailoring your intro to the person and situation at hand demonstrates a commitment to the moment, rather than simply regurgitating a standard pitch.

I’m still thinking about exactly what I’ll do with this, but wanted to record and share it here. I’d love to hear your thoughts on it too…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

