Libraries, the universe and everything


Brunch and Chartership in NYC
October 16, 2012, 21:50
Filed under: Chartership, CPD, Events

Last Saturday found me heading for 42nd Street, and the lovely Pershing Square cafe, to meet up with Kelly for our inaugural East Coast Chartership gathering.

Kelly and Emma at Pershing Square cafe

In the end the meet-up was just attended by the two of us, plus our other halves, but that didn’t stop us having a really good chat and I thoroughly enjoyed myself (the food was good too!). Loida also dropped in for a while to find out what Chartership was all about, and I found that talking through the process with her and revisiting some of my reasons for undertaking it was a useful exercise, especially as I’ve been struggling to care much about it lately.

That said, having the meet-up date in my diary and being determined to make some more progress beforehand proved a big encouragement for me to get on with re-drafting my evaluative statement. Consequently I’m now much happier with it, and my mentor has sent some more helpful feedback on it too. There’s still a little way to climb, but the summit is now within view!

I don’t think I had appreciated how much encouragement I got from my network back in England, and even though I can still tap into it from afar I’m especially missing the London library scene. One of the main themes of my and Kelly’s discussion was a shared feeling of isolation, and whilst I know I’m really lucky that I haven’t had to undergo the whole process all by myself I’m definitely feeling the contrast now.

I clearly need to get on with building a new network here in America, and I’m delighted that Kelly and I are now planning another meet-up. We’ve both decided to complete our portfolios by the end of the year, so an early December meeting should help to keep us on track!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So glad you got to meet up and can encourage each other with physical meetups – I have every confidence you can both complete it by the end of the year. Let me know if I can help cheer you on in any way from the other side of the pond! 🙂

Like

Comment by Jo Alcock

Thanks Jo!

Like

Comment by Emma Davidson

[…] Brunch and Chartership in NYC Last Saturday found me heading for 42nd Street, and the lovely Pershing Square cafe, to meet up with Kelly for our inaugural East Coast C… […]

Like

Pingback by Chartership Meet-ups in the USA | Kelly Quaye

[…] the amount of progress I’d made with my portfolio between meetings. Emma blogged about our first meeting, so I thought I’d talk about the second […]

Like

Pingback by Second East Coast Chartership Meet-up | Kelly Quaye




Leave a Reply

