Libraries, the universe and everything


Thing 23 – Reflection, what next?
November 2, 2011, 13:01
Filed under: cpd23 | Tags:

Too many blogs, not enough time. ~  Use the right tool when appropriate. ~ Don’t panic! Just have a go.

I’m not entirely sure that last one counts, but never mind! (I guess it could be ‘panic not’, but that sounds a bit rubbish and totally loses the Hitchhiker’s Guide reference!)

On balance I rather feel that I’ve been a bit grumpy and not given as many of the Things the best effort I could have done, but my overriding take-home point is that the value of social media and Web 2 tools stems from them making things easier for you. If they don’t have a clear use in your life/workplace then frankly they’re just a distraction (though if you’ve got the time to play with them that’s great).

Continuing the grumpiness right through to the bitter end, I have a work PDP of sorts and a bit of a personal one as well but I’m not going to share them here. Not because they’re especially confidential, mostly they’re just not that interesting or especially relevant to anyone other than my work colleagues and my husband.

What the 23 Things programme has really drummed into me is the value of reflective practice. I know I’ve said this more times than I care to recall, but I really should try to get better at this. This is clearly where the ‘keep blogging’ bit comes in for me, as reflection is essentially the point of this blog (though I’m much better at ranting than reflecting!) – I guess we’ll just have to see what happens…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

