Libraries, the universe and everything


Thing 19 – Reflection again
October 10, 2011, 17:54
Filed under: cpd23 | Tags:

Hmm, overall I’ve been a bit of a CPD23 failure so far. I’m still using things which I already used when the course began, and along the way I’ve earmarked a few things I would like to try out when a suitable moment presents itself. As I said right back at the start, I was expecting this to be a really busy few months for me, and in fact it was even more manic than I’d anticipated. It’s calming down a bit now, but I’ve still got heaps to do. This has meant that all sorts of things have had to fall by the wayside, and when I’ve had to cut back on time spent with my husband, family and close friends I refuse to beat myself up for not hanging out on Twitter enough.

For me the real success of the programme has been learning about a few new things, and earmarking some resources to come back to when the time is right. I’m a firm believer in using the right tool for the right purpose, and the flip side of this is if that I don’t see a need for it then I don’t see the point in trying to use it. This might sound reductive, but for me there simply aren’t enough hours in the day – if you have enough time to play about with all this stuff and report back then I’ll read your views and envy your opportunity, but I won’t do it myself unless I can see a clear benefit. So a HUGE thanks from me for all the interesting and informative blogs I’ve read about the Things so far, and I look forward to some more – keeping just-about-on-top of my RSS reader is pretty much the only professional-development related thing I’ve managed to do recently!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] completely relate to Emma Davidson‘s statement: “For me the real success of the programme has been learning about a few […]

Like

Pingback by cpd23: Thing 19 – Integrating things | Sabine's 23 Things




Leave a Reply

