Libraries, the universe and everything


Thing 15 – attending, presenting, organising
August 31, 2011, 10:11
Filed under: cpd23 | Tags:

I love attending events, and go to as many as I can. As I’m based in London there are more events going on than I have the time to attend, many of which are free or low-cost (and yes, I realise I’m extremely lucky).
Speaking is something I haven’t tried yet, through both lack of opportunity and lack of confidence. Maybe one day…

Organising, on the other hand, is the newest string in my bow. I’m currently involved with organising a 2-day literary festival, it’s keeping me hugely busy, and I love it! I’m also getting involved with the LIKE Symposium, currently pencilled-in for next March (of which more later). This is definitely something which I’m keen to do more of.

One thing I definitely need to bear in mind is reflection – both on what can take away from events I attend but also on the planning process. With both the festival and the symposium I’ve been really fortunate to work with some fantastic people, and there are lots of lessons I can learn from them.  I will need to do a formal report after the festival is over which will cetainly help with this, and should blog about it all too, which is at least a start, but embedding reflective practice in my work is an aspiration I constantly struggle to achieve.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

